Stand-alones: Tips and Advice

The Emotional Power of Writing

Hello and welcome to Writer Central!

Last Sunday, my cat passed away due to (we think) heart or liver failure.  He was young, and it was very sudden for all of us.  I still get really sad every time I think about him, so I try not to.

But consider this for a moment.

How does one write realistic scenes that make the reader actually feel what’s happening, and so that they go away feeling fresh and inspired?  How do they emotionally invest the reader in the story?  Well, the writer has to be invested, too.

This bit kind of relates to a post I did a few weeks back, on Setting the Mood.  The writer should be able to feel a certain way in order to write realistic and diverting sentences that make the reader want to keep going and finish the book.  But last Sunday when I was sitting in my house feeling terrible, I realized I should be using this new, strong emotion that was overwhelming me to my advantage.

So I worked on a really sad scene that I’ve been procrastinating doing for ages.  Before that, I had stopped to think about my cat, about what he was like when he was alive, and how happy he was now.

Once I was just on the brink of tears, I dove into my story.  And the words flew out of me, realistic and melancholy and disconsolate.  I almost started crying again, but this time it wasn’t because of my cat but from the emotion that my story hurtled at me.

Even though writing this reminded me of so many terrible things that have happened in the short span of time that I’ve been alive, it also inspired me.  And this is exactly what I hope it does to others.

This is just an example, of course.  There have been many other times where I have used the horrible occurrences in this world to my advantage to make not only a better story for myself and my readers, but also to reinterpret things for others and help them to realize that they can change the world.  Which, I know, sounds extreme, but I’ll explain.

I know we never feel like there’s anything we can do about whatever awful thing happened.  It seems way out of our control, as regular people just living our lives.

Let me tell you, though, that as writers, we can do something about it.  Maybe not in the way anyone expects, but we can make a difference.

How do we do that?

Write about it.

I know that sounds ridiculous, but hear me out!  By “writing about it” I don’t even mean that you need to tell a news story on what happened or write a realistic fiction novel on it.  I mean, send a message through your story.  A powerful message.  A message, perhaps, that shows others how powerful love and unity can be.  A message that shows others that, if we work together, we can stop every awful thing that happens every day.

By this, I don’t mean we can stop death, because course we can’t do anything about that.  We’d all turn into Anakin Skywalker if we tried.  I mean that we can stop things that are threatening to ruin our world and society: global warming, hate, gun violence, abuse, racism, sexism…and so much else that just gets worse and worse.  Mankind began all these things, but mankind can end them, too.

And I don’t mean sending a literal message, though social media posts and persuasive essays can make a difference.  I want you, the writer, to influence others for the better.  That’s partly why I became a writer, and why I want to continue to be a writer.  We need to turn this grisly world away from the disastrous destination that it’s heading for.

Writing is powerful, more powerful than most even realize, or comprehend.  And I think that every writer, young and new or old and experienced, should be aware of the power their story can create.  Because that’s the whole point of writing – to tell a story.

The intention of this somewhat depressing post was to help you see your writing in a new light.  Make it emotional and heartwarming (or even heartbreaking if you’re an evil monster).  Give a message to the world to help us understand what we need to do repair ourselves.

It’s not just words on a paper – it’s a story, a message, a truth, a lesson, a collection of emotions.  I’m telling you right now that you need to put your message out there.

That’s all for today!  Thank you for sticking around as I poured out my feelings onto you.  I hope this post helped you to rethink your job as a writer.  It’s a very important job, even if it doesn’t seem that way.

If you have a question, suggestion, or comment, please don’t hesitate to drop it below or contact me, and I’ll get back to you!  And, while you’re at it, tell me in the comments about your feelings on the power of writers.  Also, don’t forget to follow my blog for more writerly and bookish content, or check out my past posts here.

See you next time! ❤

Have a question or idea? Comment here and I'll get back to you!

