Series: Stages of A Book

Brainstorming

Welcome (back) to Writer Central!

Today I’m coming back at you with a post for my Stages of a Book Series.  It is the first part of the writing process (for most people), and it’s the stage where you basically just thought-dump and plan for your future manuscript.  It’s one of the most straightforward yet simultaneously most difficult parts of writing a novel, for me anyway.

Know what I’m talking about?

That’s right!  Brainstorming.

Let’s start this off with a simple question: What even is brainstorming for a novel?

Well, my friend, brainstorming is basically the process in which you come up with your entire plot.  You figure out the major points (rising action, climax, resolution, etc) and decide how they’re connected.  You learn about your characters, what they’re like, what they do, what their purpose is…you get the picture.

Now maybe you’re thinking, “But how do I do this?  How do I figure out what my characters are like and how my plot is connected?”

That’s the purpose of this post!  So read below for three tips on brainstorming for your fiction novel.


1. Just thought-dump.

Actually, I forgot to mention the inspiration stage of a book in my series, but that step comes before the brainstorming one.

Anyway, inspiration comes before brainstorming: it’s the stage where you get ideas for what you should brainstorm.  So thought-dumping, therefore, is exactly what it sounds like.  You basically dump your ideas from whatever your inspiration gave you into a document.  It doesn’t have to be organized.  It’s basically a huge document of ideas.

Once you’ve written down everything you can think of, you read it over to see what you think is missing.  Connect the dots, basically.  This is the easiest way to get your thoughts together and to get the roots of your story in place.


2. Make sure it makes sense and will be the right size for a novel.

This comes right after your thought-dump.  Basically, read over your work and make sure it will be long enough and complex enough for your story.  Check it for major plot holes, or things that don’t make sense. Maybe complete plot diagrams or other things to help you get it organized.


3. Prepare the beginnings of your characters.

Begin to understand how your characters fit into the plot.  Make sure they have a purpose in the story.  Choose their names.

How do you do this?

Answer questionnaires for them, analyze them, do whatever it takes.  Check out sites like Baby Center and Nameberry for name ideas.


Thanks for reading this short little how-to post!  I hope you found it helpful, no matter what stage you are in.  If you did, then be sure to check out the others I’ve written as well as follow my blog for more to come!  If you have a question, suggestion, or comment, feel free to drop it below or contact me through email or social media and I’ll get back to you.

Also, I won’t be posting as much as I was over the summer.  My life has suddenly gotten really busy.  I will (hopefully) still be posting at least once a week, most likely on Fridays.  I apologize if this post was a short and disorganized, because I had to write it quickly.  Thanks for understanding.

See you next time! ❤

Have a question or idea? Comment here and I'll get back to you!

