Stand-alones: Tips and Advice

On Setting the Mood

Welcome (back) to Writer Central!

It’s been such a long time since I’ve done a post with tips, so I decided I should finally do one!  Today I’m going to talk about setting the mood. And by that I don’t mean setting the mood of your story – I’ll talk about that later.  By setting the mood, I mean setting the mood for yourself as the writer.  Setting the mood for yourself so that your story will be realistic is key to investing and intriguing your readers.

Why is it important to write realistically?  Well, if your writing is one dimensional and undeveloped, your book’s readers won’t have any connection with the characters, nor will they feel what’s happening in the plot.  And you want these things.  If you set the mood for yourself, it should be easier for you personally to write realistically, and therefore make it relatable and deep for your readers to get invested in.

So how do you set the mood for yourself?  Well, here are five tips to help you.


1. Listen to music.

Now, there are some people in our world who can’t stand music while trying to channel creative emotion.  But I love to have music while I’m writing.  You just have to make sure it’s the right music.  You shouldn’t be listening to rap or anything lyrical and distracting, because I swear (and I know from experience) it’s not helpful.

I suggest making playlists before you’ve even begun writing.  Take a quick look through your outline, and then make playlists correlating with each scene.  If it’s a death scene, prep some sad music, or music that makes you feel sad.  This way, your writing will come out feeling realistic and deep, and your readers (unless they are heartless aliens) should come out feeling sad as well.


2. Prepare yourself.

I’m sure that made next to no sense, but don’t worry! I’ll explain.

Sometimes, before I start writing a scene filled with a lot of emotion – particularly grief – I’ll watch a sad video on YouTube.  (It may or may not be another way for me to procrastinate, but it really does help!)  This way, my heart is already in sad mode, so when I write it just pours out.  Of course, don’t watch stuff that’s so depressing you don’t even feel like writing!


3. Talk to a friend.

Sometimes, if you’re unsure that your scene is going to be/is realistic and relatable, you can just talk to a friend about it.  They don’t even have to be a writer themselves, because a lot of readers aren’t writers, either.  Just ask your friend some questions, or maybe even have them read what you wrote to see if it sounds realistic and emotional.  This way, you can get a clearer answer from a different perspective.


4. Make sure your surroundings are appropriate.

Don’t write emotional scenes in a crowded public place, or anywhere it’s noisy – unless you can really keep all the noise out or you’re wearing thickly padded headphones.

It’s SO HARD to channel emotion (at least for me) when the only emotion you’re feeling is frustration.  Like I said earlier, you need to be feeling invested in what you’re writing, or else it’s unlikely that your readers will, too.  So wait until you’re in a quiet place or a place that you can concentrate easily in, and can really trigger your deepest emotions.

Just be reasonable, folks.  Or there’ll be lots of future editing heading your way…and who wants that?


5. Give yourself a lot of time.

If your scene it particularly long and full of emotion, then make sure you have a lot of time to work on it.  If it begins to feel rushed, that will take away its realistic feeling.  Remember – there’s no hurry if you set yourself the time.  So settle down and write your ******* book.


That’s all for today!  Thank you so much for taking some time out of your life to visit my blog.  If you found this post helpful, and want more like it, the others I’ve done can be found here.  If you have a suggestion for a future post, don’t hesitate to drop it below!  As always, comments and questions are welcome either through email, social media, or the section below this post. 😉

See you next time! ❤

Have a question or idea? Comment here and I'll get back to you!

