Tags

The Birthstone Book Tag

Welcome (back) to Writer Central!

Today I’ve completed a rather unique tag that I found on Samantha’s blog, Spines and Covers.  I wasn’t tagged by anyone, but as usual, I like to pretend that I’ve been included. 😥 I’m just going to do this tag for the heck of it, and because I really like doing tags.

I’m not necessarily certain who made up this tag, but you might be able to find that information somewhere on booktube.

This tag is called the Birthstone tag, and basically I have to name a book or character that fits into each of the twelve categories.  The categories, in turn, correlate with birthstones, which of course are correlated with the months of the year.

So, let’s get started – and be prepared for lots of Harry Potter references!



January (GARNET):
Associated with warding off negative forces and dark energies – Name a book with the darkest/evilest character you can think of.

The first character for this that came to my mind was Voldemort, from the Harry Potter series.  But as I went over it in my head, I decided he’s not as evil as villains in other books I’ve read.  Sure, he kills people out of spite.  But he does it quickly, and painlessly, while other villains take their sweet time.

So as my final answer for this category, I’m going to twist the rules a bit and name a series (which I’ll probably be doing a lot of, actually).  The winner is The Throne of Glass series, by Sarah J. Maas.  The evil character I have in mind is not the King of Adarlan, as you may have expected, but Arobynn Hamel.  This dude is so selfish, and so…I don’t know, grotesque, that he makes me hate him just by the things he says.  Plus, he did terrible things to Celaena.

(Also, with a close second, President Snow from The Hunger Games trilogy, because…duh.  Actually, he did worse things than Arobynn, but for some reason, I hate Arobynn more.)


February (AMETHYST):
Purple is associated with royalty – Name a book with regal qualities… You can base this off of characters or choose the King of all books.

Gosh, this one’s hard.  I guess I’ll pick The Dragonet Prophecy, by Tui T. Sutherland, because this book is full of queens and laws and all that.  Actually, I kind of want to pick this whole series as my answer, but I’ve already done that above (twice) so I think I need to narrow it down to one book.  So that’s my choice.


March (AQUAMARINE):
Washed out – Name a ‘wishy washy’ character, a character who is not strong or a follower.

Great, another hard one, especially since most of the characters in books I read are totally bad***, or at least prove their worth at the end.  So…give me a moment.

Ok, three years later, I’ve got my answer.  Frank Zhang, from The Heroes of Olympus series, by Rick Riordan.

Now, Frank is super strong physically – in fact, anyone who says he isn’t is an idiot.  But what I mean here is that he is very weak mentally.  He is unsure of himself, of his decisions.  Also, his mind is controlled by a friggin’ piece of firewood, so…there’s that.  And ok, he does prove his worth at lots of points in the books, but his personality is follower for sure.

Sorry that this was the best I could do.  Please don’t kill me.


April (DIAMOND):
A diamond in the rough – Name a book that you loved but is not well known.

Well, I don’t necessarily love this book, but I do think it should be more popular than it is, because it’s pretty funny and a good (yet cliché) plot.  That’s Poison, by Bridget Zinn.

I wrote a review on this book awhile back, so if you go check it out you can see my feelings on it.  Still, I think it should be better known.


May (EMERALD):
Said to balance energy – Name two characters who balance each other well.

Dangit, I have so many answers for this one!  But my top contenders are Albus Potter and Scorpius Malfoy, from Harry Potter and the Cursed Child (by J.K. Rowling, John Tiffany, and Jack Thorne).

Wow, these characters are just so perfect together.  Scorpius is a quiet but hilarious nerd, and Albus is impulsive and somewhat idiotic and needs someone his age to keep him in line.  Also, even though their fathers were archenemies at their age, they get along great.  To me, that’s a big step on its own.

They balance each other out just right.


June (PEARL):
Associated with loyalty – Name a character who is loyal to the end.

As soon as I read this, a character popped into my head – and that’s Luna Lovegood, from the Harry Potter series, by J.K. Rowling.  (Also, I need to stop naming Harry Potter characters – but hey, don’t say you weren’t warned.)

Anyway, Luna is just so awesome in her own way, and strongly loyal to Harry.  She would die for him, and she’s friends with him even when everyone else seems to hate him.

Still, there are a lot of other characters who are just as loyal, but I won’t go into that.


July (RUBY):
Blood red – Name a book that made your blood boil, one that made you angry.

So, I’m not sure if this question means angry as in I hate the book because it’s a terrible book, or I’m extremely mad at one of the characters because they’re just so mean to the protagonist.  Because those are very different things.

I’ll answer them both.

My choice for the first one is either Queen of Shadows, by Sarah J. Maas, or Crossed, by Ally Condie.

Now, let me explain this.  So, as much as I loved the Throne of Glass series…Queen of Shadows just made me really annoyed.  The world is centered around Aelin, and I didn’t like that.  This book just has so many subplots and pointless scenes that it practically drove me up the walls and made me pull my hair out.  (You can read my full, raving Goodreads review here.)  But even though I had mixed feelings on this book, I’m excited to read Empire of Storms, which will come out on September sixth.  I am a little nervous that it will make me dislike the series even more, but I’m hoping it’ll do the opposite.

And now for my thoughts on Crossed: Well, this book was just horrible.  It was so boring, and though maybe some people might have enjoyed it, I did not.  It made me mad because it was such a waste of my time.

My choice for the second option is A Court of Mist and Fury, also by Sarah J. Maas.  This book, like many of Maas’s other books was just jam-packed with awful and disturbing characters.  I found my blood boiling quite a few times because of that.


August (PERIDOT):
Pale green (it pales in comparison to other gems) – Name a supporting character who you like better than the main character.

Well, I was going to say Hermione, but I decided that I’ve had enough of my Harry Potter references.  So, instead, I think I’ll choose Maven, from Red Queen, by Victoria Aveyard.  He was my favorite character in the book for a long period of time (I’m trying to stay spoiler-free, guys, so hear me out), even if…well, you’ll see.  If you’ve read the book, you’ll know what I’m talking about.

He was sort of my fictional crush, and I liked him a lot more than I liked Mare.


September (SAPPHIRE):
Blue like the ocean which is calming – Name a book that had a calming affect on you.

Oh, dear.

You see, I can’t quite recall ever reading a book that had much of a calming affect on me.  My mind is a whirlwind of thoughts and questions and confusion while I’m reading.

I can’t really think of a book that hasn’t done that to me, so I’ll just name one that’s gotten really close.  And that’s Dragon Rider, by Cornelia Funke.  Something about this book was just really calming (at least, calmer than most of the others I’ve read) and fun to read.  Even though it’s a big book, I felt like I flew through it.


October (OPAL):
Iridescent – Name an iridescent book, this can be a book with a beautiful cover (Shiny? Lots of colour?) or you can base it off of a character (Quirky? Colourful?).

Yay!  This one’s kind of fun.  There are so many beautiful books, but I think I’m going to pick Passenger, by Alexandra Bracken.  It’s a stunning book, and I bought it mostly because the cover is so enticing.  (And because I’d heard a lot of good things about it…but that’s beside the point.)

passenger.png

I just love it!! ❤


November (TOPAZ):
Associated with resilience – Name a book with a character who rises to the top in a time of adversity.

Yaaay, another hard one. 😦

For this one, I’m going to pick Throne of Glass.  (Sorry that I keep using Maas’s books.)

Celaena Sardothien definitely lives in a world of adversity, but she managed to rise to the top anyway.  Also, I’m not going to say any more because – SPOILERS.  But she fits this category almost perfectly.


December (BLUE ZIRCON):
Associated with friendship – Name a book with a friendship you want to be a part of.

Again, I was tempted to say Harry Potter. *rolls eyes*

But no, this time I’m going with, once more, The Heroes of Olympus series.  The friendships in this series – and the relationships as well – are just so unbreakable and funny and awesome that when I read this series I ached to be a part of them.  Riordan is just awesome that way.



So, that’s the end of the Birthstone book tag!  Thanks for reading!

I’m actually going to tag people this time, even though I was not tagged and I guess I don’t have the right to pass it on…but that’s ok.  My taggees are: Renee Brooks from Rock-Paper-Pencil, Cory Winters from WhyIsTheWaterBlue, Cati Kirby from Author’s Abode, and, last but definitely not least, Amanda McCormick.  Just remember, none of you have to actually participate, but you’ve been tagged!

If anyone else would like to do this tag as well, feel free.  Also, there’s more where this came from, and more to come!  Just follow my blog or click here, to see more writerly and bookish things from me!

As always, if you have a question or comment, drop it below or contact me through email or social media, and I’ll get back to you. 🙂

See you next time! ❤

Have a question or idea? Comment here and I'll get back to you!

