Tags

Writer Question Tag

Hello reader, and welcome (back) to Writer Central!

Today I’m going to do another writing tag!  No, as usual I was not tagged, but I happened to be over on Jenna Moreci’s YouTube channel and I picked the tag up from one of her videos.

This is a tag not about the writer’s book, or characters, but instead about the writer herself.  So this will be a little bit different for me, but I’m willing to give it a shot.  Here goes nothing!


1. What do you eat or drink while writing?

Well, I don’t usually eat while writing.  I don’t really like getting my keyboard all greasy or wet or whatever, plus I’m not especially good at multitasking.  I do eat while writing once in awhile, but when I do it tends to be something snacky and easy, like nuts or cereal.  If I’m going to do all the work that getting up and finding a snack induces, then I prefer that it’s quick.

As for what I drink, it’s usually just whatever’s in the fridge or, again, quick.  When it’s cold out, I make myself tea to drink.

2. What do you listen to while writing?

Music.

Ok, I know that’s not necessarily what the question meant.  I really like listening to soundtracks, classical music, and – once in a while – lyrical music – while I’m writing, even though all of that can be distracting.  I usually listen to bands like Two Steps From Hell and other action-packed music.  Sometimes I’ll listen to music that correlates with the scene I’m writing, and sometimes I just play a steady noise like rain falling or ocean waves.  I like to set the mood that way.

3. What is your biggest distraction while you’re writing?

Probably my family, though social media comes in with a close second.  With all my impending tasks and duties, I can’t get much writing done before someone in my family reminds me about everything else I have to do.

I also tend to drift off into the addicting world of YouTube or Instagram whenever a scene that I’m writing starts to get difficult or boring.  This is the worst, because then, when I come back to that particular scene, it’s even harder to work on than before.

4. What is the worst thing that has happened to you while writing?

Well, the writing program that I use can be faulty at times and sometimes randomly shuts down, leaving unsaved work.  One time my computer was “experiencing issues,” and shut down before I had time to back up my manuscript.  Most of my work was deleted, and I ended up starting my entire manuscript – which, at the time, was about six chapters – over.  It worked out ok, but at the time it was devastating.

5. What is the best thing that has ever happened to you while writing?

It’s a wonderful feeling to finally finish a scene, chapter, and, even better, one’s whole manuscript.  But I think the best thing that’s ever happened to me was I got really good feedback on a certain chapter.  Even if that chapter wasn’t particularly well-written to begin with, it made me – and still does – feel happy and warm inside.

6. Who do you communicate with while you’re writing?

Sometimes I talk to my family, complaining about the scene I’m slogging through or whatever’s going on in my story.  But I think the people I communicate with the most are my writing friends.  I have some friends from NaNoWriMo, as well as several writing buddies I know in person.  I can talk to them about my writing, and they don’t mind.  They understand.

Honestly, writing buddies are great.  They help lift you up when you’re feeling down.  They support you when you’re achieving something.  They motivate you when you need motivation.  Plus, they give amazing feedback.  Really, if you don’t have writer buddies then I suggest you find some.  They are a huge source of inspiration.

7. What is your secret to success and your biggest writing flaw?

I’m not a published author (yet), so I don’t know if I’m qualified to answer the first part of this question.  But my “secret to success” is to just keep pushing through.  The only way to reach the end of anything is to slog through the journey.  So, even when I really don’t feel like writing, I make myself open the messy jumble I call my story’s document and get at least a little done.  It’s the only way to make any sort of progress.

As for my biggest writing flaw – I tend to be skeptical of my own abilities and I compare myself to other writers, and even published authors.  After finishing an especially good book I just sit there and think something like, “I will never be this good.” When people compliment my writing, I accept the compliment but in my head I automatically assume they’re making it up and I can’t possibly be as good as they say.

I know I shouldn’t do these things, but they sort of happen above my control.

8. What is your inspiration? What makes you productive?

I really want to be a published author, so the thought that it’s possible, no matter how far away it seems, is what motivates me the most.  I try to write when I have a spare moment, just because I know I won’t ever be a published author if I keep putting it off.

As I said before, I tend to drift over to YouTube and other forms of social media without even fully realizing it.  The best way for me to get my productivity back is to think about how much I have to complete.  For some, this may not help and it might make everything seem even more daunting than it already is, but if I start to think about everything my writing promises, that in itself motivates me.

9. What is one thing that you do or that other writers do that is super annoying?

Talk about fictional characters as though they’re real.  We writers tend to talk about everything writing-related over and over and over, and I’m sure it’s super annoying for all them non-writers.  But one of the writerly subjects I’ve seen the most of is characters.  And this isn’t just with writers, but also readers and movie-watchers.

We’ll blab on and on about our characters – or someone else’s – as though they actually exist in the real world.  We pity them when something awful happens in their life.  We treat them like our children at times.  We have “fictional boyfriends” and “fictional friends” and “fictional parents.”

But, you guys, fictional is the key word to all of those things.  I hate to break it to you, but they only exist in our fantastical dreams.

10. Are you willing to share something you’ve written?

Well, I sure hope so as I plan for my book to be published some day!  So yes, at some point in the future.  Currently, no.  My manuscript is in a huge disarray right now – I’m in the process of maneuvering between drafts.  No part of it is ready to be seen by the public eye just yet.


That’s all for now.  If you’re interested in doing this tag, whether it’s through a YouTube video, blog, or whatever, feel free!  I’m not tagging anyone mainly because I wasn’t technically tagged, and I don’t want to pass on something that I shouldn’t have in the first place.  But you can be a rebel just like me and go for it anyway.

If you enjoyed this post and would like to see others like it, be sure to follow and check out my other blog posts, which can be found here.  If you have a question or idea, just comment below or contact me.

See you next time! ❤

Have a question or idea? Comment here and I'll get back to you!

