Reviews

Sarah J. Maas: The Assassin’s Blade: Part 2

Hello reader!  Welcome (back) to Writer Central!the assassin's blade

Today, not for the first time, I am going to be attempting to write a review.  Once more, reviewing doesn’t seem to be my strong point, buuut I’m trying it anyway.

So today I’m going to do a review on Sarah J. Maas‘s The Assassin’s Blade.  I’ve already done a review of this book, so this is part two.  (If you’d like to read the first one you can find it here.)  This book is a collection of five novellas surrounding the tale of Celaena Sardothien, also known as Adarlan’s Assassin.  It’s considered #0 in the Throne of Glass series.

I’ll give a spoiler-free summary and review of the last two novellas in the book.


The Assassin and the Underworld #4

the underworldSummary:  Arobynn Hamel, the King of Assassins and Celaena’s master, has seen how against slavery Celaena is.  So he sets her on a mission to stop a man from collecting slaves for a slave trade he’s been planning.  Celaena has to work to get into his well-guarded house, and it’s not easy.  She ends up in sewers, on rooftops, and in servant passageways while in progress.

Review:  When I was done reading this novella, I felt as though it was somewhat pointless. It didn’t seem to have a purpose except to drive Celaena and Sam closer and to show what a bastard Arobynn is.  Still, it was well-written and every twist was surprising.


The Assassin and the Empire #5

the empire.jpgSummary:  Celaena has finally paid off her debts to Arobynn and has begun to see the first dabs of freedom on the horizon.  However, before she leaves – with Sam – they agree to complete one last assignment.

Review:  Well, right from the start I knew something terrible was going to happen.  Everything was just too good in Celaena’s world, and everything went too perfectly.  (Plus, I had mistakenly read Throne of Glass before I read the Assassin’s Blade because I had no idea the latter existed.)  Anyway, I was cringing throughout the entire fifth novella because I knew somebody was going to make a stupid mistake, and, sure enough, somebody did.  I cried while I read this book, because I felt so terrible for Celaena.  But I’ll leave the rest for you to find out yourself.


Don’t forget to check out Sarah J. Maas’s website, where you can find all sorts of good things!

That’s all for today!  Thanks for reading my review!  I hope you enjoyed it.

If you liked this post, you can find more like it here.  Also, don’t forget to follow my blog; I post at least once a week!  If you have a question or idea, just comment below or contact me through email or social media and I’ll get back to you.

Thanks for reading!

One thought on “Sarah J. Maas: The Assassin’s Blade: Part 2

Have a question or idea? Comment here and I'll get back to you!

