NaNoWriMo

July 11: Rushing Through: July Camp NaNoWriMo 2016

Hello, reader, and welcome (back) to Writer Central!

So it’s day 11 of July’s Camp NaNoWriMo, and I’ve been seeing great word counts!

But this is also about the point when any motivation I had left deserts me.  I start to feel drained, and I really want to procrastinate.

However, for me, this isn’t the point where I have actually allowed myself to procrastinate.  I am still slogging through, making myself write.  For me, the problem with this is that my writing not only turns crappy but also, I begin to speed.  I rush through my writing, a whiz of typos and grammatical errors.

I am sure that many of you have or are in the process of experience this, because it is practically a part of NaNoWriMo. And a scene that was rushed through will only mean more work later.

So today I am going to give you some tips on how to take your time.

  1. Don’t repetitively check your word count.  Just let the words flow from your fingers, and try not to think about how much you’ve written. The words should come naturally.
  2. Don’t let word sprints take control of your life.  If you get too invested in word sprints, you’ll realize that you’ll start writing a blizzard of words and your writing will be all crap. Slow down, and focus on the scene you’re writing instead.
  3. Make sure all the elements you needed of a certain scene are covered before moving on.  Go back over your work to make sure you didn’t leave anything out.
  4. Take breaks.  I find that one of the reasons I write so quickly at certain times is because I get really tired of writing and just can’t wait to be done.  So take some time to yourself, to stretch, go for a walk, get a snack, or get other things done. Then come back feeling refreshed, and your writing will improve greatly.
  5. Don’t ramble on and on.  I find that when I am trying to write quickly, I’ll ramble on and on with description, and with dialogue, just to make it seem that I’ve written more. And maybe I have, but a lot of it will have to be written later.  Try to keep it short and too-the-point, so you won’t have to delete as much later.

That’s all for today!  Remember that writing is an art, and shouldn’t be rushed.  (I tried not to rush through this blog post, but it was hard. 😉 )

I hope this was helpful.  If you want more, go ahead and check out my other posts, or you can follow this blog.  I post at least once a week, and I will be posting again on Friday the fifteenth.  A huge, huge thank you to every loyal person who has followed my blog.  I work hard on these posts and it feels good to have them be appreciated.

If you have a question or idea, feel free to comment below, e-mail me, or contact me through social media!

See you next time!

Have a question or idea? Comment here and I'll get back to you!

