NaNoWriMo

July 4: The End of the Streak: July Camp NaNoNoWriMo 2016

Hello, reader!  Welcome (back) to Writer Central!  And happy Independence Day to all of you Americans.

So, it’s July 4th…which, for some people, might just mean the anniversary of the day that America was freed from Britain.  (Sorry, Britain.)

But to us WriMos, it means something else: the fourth day of the July Camp NaNoWriMo.

By now, many of us have already hit a spurt of productivity, of accomplishment.  Unfortunately, if one is to have quite a bit of accomplishment, there will be a time when the accomplishment turns to what feels like failure.  That is very close to the point I am at now.

We all go through phases where at one point we are amazed with ourselves, marveling at how it’s possible that we aren’t published yet.  And then the next day we’re sitting at our desk considering giving up.

I know firsthand exactly how hard it is to continue powering through, so below are some tips I’ve listed to help you keep noveling.

  1. Set goals for yourself each day.  If you’re like me, then once you set a goal you’ll do anything to make sure it happens.  So try to set a reasonable goal for yourself to work toward.
  2. Keep a slow, steady pace.  I’ve noticed that when I begin to rush, my writing only turns extra-crappy (which is to be expected).  But the instant I realize how crappy it is, I start to mentally beat myself up about how terrible I am at writing.  It doesn’t take too much to start to give up. So keep your pace steady and just focus on getting a certain scene (or chapter) finished.
  3. Take breaks.  If you feel that your writing’s starting to suck, then leave it be for awhile.  Go outside and take a walk, or play that game your little sister has been begging you to play for ages.  Try to clear your mind and focus on something other than writing for a change.  Once you get back into it, you’ll feel refreshed.  Just don’t make your breaks permanent. 😉
  4. Go back and read over your work.  I know this is something NaNoWriMo is supposed to discourage you from doing, but if you are starting to feel like your writing is just downright awful, then go over it and try to prove yourself wrong.  This may help you realize that your writing isn’t as sucky as you initially thought, and make you feel better.  If you end up proving yourself right, then take some time to fix the things you don’t like.  You’ll end up feeling a lot better once you get back on track.
  5. Stay caught up.  When I get behind in my writing goal, I get frustrated and don’t stop until I get it.  Don’t be like me.  Stick to your word count, trying to write daily, and you’ll feel much better with yourself.
  6. Don’t meander into foreign territory.  Perhaps you just reached that one scene that you’ve been dreading for so long, and it’s holding you back.  Maybe you didn’t outline as carefully as you thought you did.  Whatever the reason, pause in the writing and take some time to outline it.  If you do this, you’ll feel more confident in yourself.

That’s all for today!  Thank you for reading.

If you found this post helpful, be sure to check out my other posts, and feel free to follow my blog.  A huge thank you to everyone who is already following; it means a lot to me!

If you have a question or idea, feel free to contact me, and I will get back to you!  Comment below your status on your writing project.  Are you overachieving your goal, are you right on track, or do you feel that you’re falling behind?  I’d love to hear from you!

Please come back later this week for another post.

See you next time!

One thought on “July 4: The End of the Streak: July Camp NaNoNoWriMo 2016

  1. Hahaha as soon as I finished this post my sister asked me to play a game that she has been begging me to play for ages….
    ~~~
    How far are you in your writing goal?

    Like

Have a question or idea? Comment here and I'll get back to you!

