NaNoWriMo

June 30: The Day Before Camp NaNoWriMo: July Camp NaNoWriMo 2016

Hello, reader, and welcome (back) to Writer Central!

So, it’s the last day of June, and for some of us writers, that means one important thing: Camp NaNoWriMo.  Tomorrow is the first day of July, and also the first day of something that might impact your life for the better.

You might be excited.  Perhaps your desk is organized for the first time in three years, your workspace clean in anticipation of what is to come.  Maybe you’ve stocked your room with snacks for the process, and your story is outlined and ready, waiting.  Pen and paper in hand, you’re ready to attack your story.  You’ve never been more ready for a day to come in your life, and you’re not at all daunted by it.

I feel this way too, despite having experienced two months of NaNo before, and having the knowledge I do of the stages one goes through.

But I do know what is to come, and I have some tips for you to help you prepare:

  1. Don’t overestimate what you can do.  It’s often productive to set goals that are higher than what you think you can accomplish; however, don’t expect too much from yourself.  If you set your expectations far higher than you can reach, you will only be disappointed when you don’t reach your goal.  And I’m not only talking about word goals, but also about goals that you set for yourself, goals on what to complete.  Push yourself, but not too hard.
  2. Take care of yourself.  Don’t forget to eat, sleep, take showers, and get exercise.  As important as your story may be, you are more important!  Don’t forget that.  If you are unhealthy, it will only delay you.
  3. Don’t spend all your time writing.  Writing too much will only make your writing worse, and you’ll find yourself slogging through it.  Give yourself breaks, do something else. Then come back to writing when you can.
  4. Try not to rush.  Slow down, take your time.  Rushed writing only means more editing later on, and not just typo-editing, but also plot hole edits.
  5. Don’t focus too much on your word count goal.  Pay less attention to the quantity as to the quality.  If you realize that what you’re writing is terrible because of the speed you’re going at, then slow down.  Take some time to slow down and make broader goals for yourself.

That’s all for today!

I’m writing this now, instead of Friday, because tomorrow is really busy for me.  However, for the rest of July, I plan to update my blog twice a week, so look out for that.

I also want to thank everyone who has followed my blog!  I appreciate it; it means so much to me!

If you have a question or idea, feel free to comment below or contact me (through e-mail or social media), and I will get back to you!

Thank you for reading!  I hope to see you next time on Writer Central!

Have a question or idea? Comment here and I'll get back to you!

