Stand-alones: Tips and Advice

Balancing Your Overwhelming TBR With Ordinary Activities

Hello, reader!  And welcome (back) Writer Central!

Do you have a friend who is constantly reading new books and recommending them to you?  The friend who always seems to have time and you don’t?  And it always makes you wonder… “How?!”

Some people just have more time, plain as that.  But others are just better at managing their time, and therefore getting everything done that they both want to get done and need to get done.  I, personally, am envious of these people.  I’m much less organized than I’d like to be, and there are so many great books out there that I’m aching to read!

But finding the time to do everything you need to do is really hard.  Because I’ve already talked about the basic gist of productivity in a post (Procrastination), I’m going down into detail today.

Today I’m talking about balancing TBRs with ordinary responsibilities.  (If you don’t know what TBR means, it stands for To Be Read, a.k.a. that overwhelming stack of books you have waiting for you at the library, or on your dresser, about to expire.  You know what I’m talking about.)

Every writer that I know is a reader as well, so hopefully you’ll find this helpful.

Anyway, below I’ve put together five rules that should help with not only TBR issues, but also with your life, as well as time management, which are literally the same thing.

  1. Make a list.  If you hear/see the title of a book you want to read, write it on a slip of paper, or on the Notes section of your phone, or whatever is the easier for you.  This way, if you think you’re going to have free time, you can get the book from the library or a book store in order to read it while you can.
  2. Moderate.  When I log onto my library account, I tend to go crazy.  I get way too many books to add onto my already swelling list.  And then they come, and I die of exhaustion.  Well, not exactly – instead I do things that I need to do while the books on my shelf are in great need of being returned to the library.  So moderate!  Just like with food, only take what you’ll use.  Don’t get more books until you’re ready for it.
  3. Have a special set time to do what you want.  Maybe it’s before bed, or early in the morning, but everyone should have a gap of time to spend primarily doing what they want to do.  If you don’t have that, then work to make it for yourself.  This way, you can work on diminishing your TBR and have some quiet time just to yourself.
  4. Bring a book everywhere you go.  This way, if something comes up when you’re at work or school, and your meeting is cancelled, you’ll have something to do.
  5. Do what you want to do while doing what you need to do.  I personally have a stretching goal where every night I stretch for at least ten minutes before bed as a way to get closer to the splits.  But I found that I was spending most of the time just sitting there staring at the wall.  Use moments like this to get other things done – I’ve started reading a book while I stretch, so I can multitask and get two things done together.

As I said earlier, the list above can help with things other than balancing your TBR.

I hope this list helped!  If you have any questions or ideas, please comment below, e-mail me, or contact me through social media.  If you’re not already aware, I update my blog at least twice a week.  Feel free to suggest a book for me to review!  Even if I haven’t read it, I might feature it in an Instagram photo.

Thanks for reading, and I hope to see you next week!

Have a question or idea? Comment here and I'll get back to you!

