Reviews

Angie Sage Author Review: Magyk, Book #1

Hey, reader!  For today’s review I chose an author who I think is pretty well known, but I thought I would write about her anyway.

Today I’m going to talk about Angie Sage, the author of the Septimus Heap series.

I just want to put out a disclaimer – I have not read the entire series, so I am not an expert on all of them.  This review is focused mainly on the first book, Magyk.

Before I get in too deep, I’ll write a brief summary of my own, just to explain the big picture.  (Minor spoilers may be involved.)

Magyk by as.pngThe book begins with the father of Septimus, Silas Heap, walking toward his home.  On the way, however, he comes upon an abandoned baby girl.  He takes her home only to find the maid taking away his newly born son, claiming that he is dead.  But it turns out that he is actually alive, and they don’t know where he is.  And who is this girl really?

What I really loved about this book was how realistic and enthralling Sage’s world felt.  She had so many strange creatures, all with names, and when she described them I really felt a chill go down my back.  The snake/eel creature wrapped all around the island, just watching them?  The slinky monster of the deep?

Guys, this book was just so unique in a way that also felt familiar.  Does that make sense at all?  It’s just so…random…and so weird, but at the same time, so fun to read!

Sage is now 63 years old and lives in England.  The funny thing about this fact is that I seemed able to tell she was British just from her writing style.  Like J.K. Rowling, she had a humorous tone in addition to seriousness.  If you enjoyed Harry Potter, you would like this book!  Also, I’ve linked Sage’s site right here in case you’d like to check it out for yourself.

That’s all I have for today.  Sorry for the short review today.  I plan to do a much longer one on Friday.  Check out the rest of this website, and please choose to return each week for new content.  See you next time!

Have a question or idea? Comment here and I'll get back to you!

